## HARTLEY HISTORICAL SOCIETY MINUTES

## NOVEMBER 1, 2011

The Hartley Historical Committee met at the home of Connie Olhausen at 7:00 p.m. Those present were Howard Borchard, Loren Newkirk, Del and Michelle Drenth, Orville Taylor, Marjean Westerman, Bryan Nelson, Ron Hengeveld, and Wesley Peters.

The Hartley Historical Society will replace The Hartley Historical Committee and become the official name of the group.

The Hartley Historical Society by-laws were presented to the group by Connie and were adopted by voice vote.

Officers elected are: President-Connie Olhausen, Vice President and Historian –Howard Borchard, Secretary – Loren Newkirk, and Jr. Historian – Wesley Peters.

Committees and Committee chairpersons are:

Museum - Howard Borchard

Events – Michelle Drenth

Fund-Raising – Marjean Westerman

Nominations – Orville Taylor

City Liaison: Ron Hengeveld

Restoration and Furnishings –Betty Taylor, Bryan Nelson, Connie Olhausen

Board of Directors: Will consist of elected officers and Betty Taylor

Various ideas for fund-raising were discussed, and the group was reminded that the Hartley Community Foundation will be part of the fund-raising effort.

It was decided to invite interested members in the area to a meeting to be held Nov. 22<sup>nd</sup>, for purposes of explaining what has been done, what needs to be done, and to discuss a vision and goals for the future.

Meeting adjourned at 8:10 p.m.

Secretary Pro-Tem

Connie Olhausen