City Council/Mayor

Hartley City Council

City Council meets at 5:30 p.m. on the 2nd Monday of each month in the Council Chambers located at City Hall at 11 S. Central Ave.  The public is always welcome.

City Attorney
Brandon Krikke (12/31/2022)

Assistant Attorney
Harold Dawson (12/31/2022)

Roxann Swanson (12/31/2023)

Deputy Clerk/Treasurer
Sheri Tewes (12/31/2022)

Superintendent of Public Works
Curtis Conaway (12/31/2023)


Mayor & Council Members

The City of Hartley operates under the Mayor-Council Form of government with five (5) council members elected at large.

 Mayor  Term Expiring 12/31/2023
Rod Ahrenstorff  Phone: 712-260-3189

 Mayor Pro-Tem  Term Expiring 12/31/2025
Mary Westphalen  Phone: 712-260-0488
 Council Members  
 Vacant Seat   
 Jerry Olson  Phone: 712-928-2371
 Council Members  Term Expiring 12/31/2025
 Ron Hengeveld  Phone: 712-928-3216

Nick Galm  Phone: 712-363-0945

2022 Committees & Representatives

 Cemetery  Electric  Finance
 Galm  Olson Hengeveld
 Swanson  Galm Swanson
 Fire/EM/911  Gas  Housing
Hengeveld Hengeveld Galm
Westphalen  Westphalen  Olson
 Insurance  Library  Personnel
 Olson  Westphalen  Swanson
 Swanson  Olson  Hengeveld
 Sewer  Sidewalk  Solid Waste
 Westphalen  Westphalen  Olson
 Galm  Olson  Hengeveld
 Storm Water  Street  Swimming Pool
Galm  Hengeveld  Swanson
 Westphalen  Swanson  Westphalen
 Telecom  Water  
 Olson  Hengeveld  
Galm  Galm